

# **President's Report**

# To the ITE-ANZ AGM on 23 February 2021

Thanks to everyone for another great year.

# The Team

President:	Nick Szwed
Vice Presidents:	Cassandra Min, Sarah Zhang
Treasurer:	Eric Ye
Secretary:	David Nash
Assistant Secretary:	Daniel Gaschk
District 8 Director:	Daniel Przychodzki
New Zealand Rep	David Mitchell
Academia & Students:	Richard Tay, Sara Moridpour
Membership, Local Gov	Daniel Przychodzki
Newsletter Editor:	Marianne Richards
Web Master:	Arash Fatemi
Strategic Planning:	Ruw Palapathwala
Seminar Coordinator:	Danielle Rebbechi, Daniel Gaschk, Michael Plant & others.
Mentoring:	Marianne Richards
Members:	John Smelt, Anwar Syed, Sarah Huang, Kenn Beer, Angela Meija-Hernandez, Ashim Debnath, Ben Thompson, Bishoy Abdelmesseh, Devika Rani, Don McKenzie, Hesavar Manivasakan, Jey Parthiban, Ken Hall, Laura Aston, Matt Bennett
Young Members Group:	Matt Bennett, Ruw Palapathwala, Danielle Rebbechi, Jonathan Bryce, Tabitha Yeoh, Andrew Griffiths, Jeyashivraj Parthiban, Mitchell Young, Patrick (Aonan) Xue, Cassandra Min, Ben Thomson
Student Chapters:	
Monash Uni	Riddhi R Kalra, Arun Dharma, Cathy Pham, Varsahe Manivasakan, Hesavar Manivasakan, Igor Karasyov, Steven Canwei Pang, Joshua Jang, Andy Cho, Bishoy Abdelmesseh, Angela Melisa Mejia Hernandez
Sydney Uni	Eric Ye, Sarah Zhang, Tim Xian
Canterbury Uni	Dana Abudayyeh, Abhirup Basu, Roy Chowdhury, Neetha Maria Aji , Ashu Kedia, Douglas Munro
Melbourne Uni	Devika

If you'd like to know a little more about these people go to:

http://www.ite.org.au/about-us/iteanz-executive-board/.

I'd like to particularly thank the following people:

- David Nash for the huge amount of work he does as Secretary.
- Eric Ye for managing our finances.
- Daniel Przychodzki for his work as District 8 Director (see more below).
- Marianne Richards for publishing the newsletter and supporting the Mentoring Program.
- Arash Fatemi for managing our website.
- Varsahe Manivasakan for leading the Transport Engineers at Monash Student Chapter.
- Eric Ye, Sarah Zhang & Tim Xian for supporting Student Chapter activities in Sydney.
- Roy Chowdhury and Dana Abudayyeh for continuing Student Chapter activities in Christchurch, and
- Matt Bennett for leading YITE.

Everyone else contributed their part and together again we achieved a huge amount last year.

## The Program

The 2020 program had to be held online and attracted high attendances. The following list does not include all of the student activities and events, they are reported elsewhere.

- February Annual Breakfast Meeting & AGM speaker: Robyn Seymour Deputy Secretary, Network Planning and Head of Road Safety Victoria, Department of Transport.
- April Induced Demand do we get it? Speaker: David Nash, Traffinity
- May Fireside Chat Samiha Najem, Hugh Utting, Kate McDonald, Mike Ma
- July Transport & Climate Change Alice Woodruff, Dr Elliot Fishman, Petra Stock
- August ITE Virtual Annual Meeting and Exhibition
- August YITE Careers in Transport
- November President's Dinner speaker: Corey Hannett, Director General Major Transport Infrastructure Authority
- November Transport Webinar at the University of Canterbury

## **Student Involvement**

#### **Transport Engineers at Monash**

The Monash Student Chapter: Transport Engineers at Monash continued to build on its past – see their separate report.

#### University of Sydney Student Chapter

Activities were curtailed because of pandemic restrictions.

#### University of Canterbury Student Chapter

Roy Chowdhury, Dana Abudayyeh and Ashu Kedia continued some activities at UC – see their separate report.

## Young ITE

A Young ITE Members Group has been set up and is reporting separately.

# Austraffic Worldwide Learning Opportunities



John Reid, Managing Director Austraffic, continued to support this wonderful program which is aimed at the personal and professional development of the young people in our profession. With his generous sponsorship we assist young transport professionals to attend conferences overseas. The following people have been the recipients of this award so far.



In 2020 we made two awards for people to attend the Annual ITE Meeting in New Orleans but the pandemic intervened and the visit to North America did not eventuate.

The AWLO fund also provides \$1,000 in prize money to the winner of the Emerging Transport Professional Award and \$200 to each winner of the University Level Student Award.

I cannot thank John Reid enough for enabling us to provide students and young transport professionals with such wonderful opportunities to enhance their personal and professional development. In particular, I wish to thank him for continuing to support this program while his business was going through challenging times due to the pandemic.

# **Global District 8**

Global District 8 Director Daniel Przychodzki has a separate report.

## Awards

The recipients of Awards for 2020 were:

- Contribution to the Transportation Profession Professor Peter Vulcan AM
- Emerging Transport Professional Daniel Gaschk, Trafficworks
- Sustainable Transport Darebin City Council (Jennifer McIntyre)
- Student Paper April Alcock, University of Sydney
- SIDRA Postgraduate Dr Krishna Behara, QUT

Thanks go to the selection panels for their good work.

## Communications

Marianne has continued to produce excellent Newsletters. You'll find them here: <a href="https://www.ite.org.au/newsletters/">https://www.ite.org.au/newsletters/</a>

## **Our Sponsors**



Austraffic is our Platinum Sponsor and has enabled the Worldwide Learning Opportunities Program as described above.



SIDRA Solutions sponsor our President's Dinner and Postgraduate Award. In 2019 they celebrated their 20<sup>th</sup> anniversary and sponsored one of our seminars.

**Corporate Sponsor** 



The RACV sponsor our Annual Breakfast Meeting.



ARUP

Student Award Sponsor

Corporate Sponsor

Nick Szwed 23 February 2021