

President's Report

To the ITE-ANZ AGM on 27 February 2020

Thanks to everyone for another great year.

The Team

President: Nick Szwed

Vice Presidents: Sam Linke, Laura Aston

Treasurer: Eric Ye

Secretary: David Nash

Assistant Secretary: Daniel Gaschk

District 8 Director: Don Mc Kenzie, Daniel Przychodzki

New Zealand Rep: David Mitchell

Academia & Students: Richard Tay, Sara Moridpour

Student Chapters:

Monash Uni Riddhi R Kalra, Arun Dharma, Cathy Pham, Varsahe Manivasakan, Hesavar

Manivasakan, Igor Karasyov, Steven Canwei Pang, Joshua Jang, Andy Cho,

Bishoy Abdelmesseh, Angela Melisa Mejia Hernandez

Sydney Uni Eric Ye, Sarah Zhang, Tim Xian

Canterbury Uni Dana Abudayyeh, Abhirup Basu Roy Chowdhury, Neetha Maria Aji , Ashu

Kedia, Douglas Munro

Melbourne Uni Devika

Young Members Group: Matt Bennett, Ruw Palapathwala, Danielle Rebbechi, Jonathan Bryce, Tabitha

Yeoh, Andrew Griffiths, Jeyashivraj Parthiban, Mitchell Young, Patrick (Aonan)

Xue, Cassandra Min, Ben Thomson

Mentoring: Marianne Richards

Membership, Local Govt: Daniel Przychodzki

Newsletter Editor: Marianne Richards

Web Master: Arash Fatemi

Strategic Planning: Ken Hall/Laura Aston/YITE

Seminar Coordinator: Michael Plant. Danielle Rebbechi, Daniel Gaschk

Seminar recording: YITE

Members: John Smelt, Anwar Syed, Sarah Huang, Kenn Beer, David Rolland

If you'd like to know a little more about these people go to:

http://www.ite.org.au/about-us/iteanz-executive-board/

I'd like to particularly thank the following people:

- David Nash for the huge amount of work he does as Secretary,
- Eric Ye for managing our finances,
- Don McKenzie for his work as District 8 Director (see more below),
- Marianne Richards for publishing the newsletter and supporting the Mentoring Program,
- Arash Fatemi for managing our website,
- Riddhi Kalra for leading the Transport Engineers at Monash Student Chapter.
- Eric Ye, Sarah Zhang & Tim Xian for continuing Student Chapter activities in Sydney,
- Dana Abudayyeh for continuing Student Chapter activities in Christchurch,
- Devika for organising the first Student Chapter event at the University of Melbourne, and
- Matt Bennett for leading YITE.

Everyone else contributed their part and together again we achieved a huge amount last year.

The Program

The 2019 program was once again comprehensive and attracted high attendances. The following list does not include all of the student activities and events, they are reported elsewhere.

- February Safer Intersections For All seminar
- February Annual Breakfast Meeting & AGM speaker: Melissa Horne, Minister for Public Transport & Minister for Ports and Freight
- March Careers Seminar at the University of Sydney
- June Multi-modal Traffic Impacts and Planning seminar
- August Rail Transport seminar
- October Careers Seminar at the University of Canterbury
- November ICTH we were invited to participate and I chaired one of the sessions
- November President's Dinner speaker: Paul Younis, Secretary of the Department of Transport
- December Careers Seminar at the University of Melbourne

Student Involvement

This year the student activity went to an even higher level.

Transport Engineers at Monash

The Monash Student Chapter: Transport Engineers at Monash continued to build on its past – see their separate report.

I attended the celebration of the 50th Anniversary of the transport program at Monash University in October.

University of Sydney Student Chapter

Eric Ye & Sarah Zhang were joined by Tim Xian and their report is attached.

University of Canterbury Student Chapter

Dana Abudayyeh in Christchurch has set up a new student chapter – see her report.

Young ITE

A Young ITE Members Group has been set up and is reporting separately.



Austraffic Worldwide Learning Opportunities

John Reid, Managing Director Austraffic, has continued to support this wonderful program which is aimed at the personal and professional development of the young people in our profession. With his generous sponsorship we continue to assist young transport professionals to attend conferences overseas. The following people have been the recipients of this award so far.



Sam (USA)



Manuel (Hong Kong)



Joel (NZ)



Laura (USA)



Dana (Japan)



Tyler (USA)



Danielle (USA)

In future we will be focussing this program mainly on the Annual ITE Meetings which are usually held in North America.

The AWLO fund also provides \$1,000 in prize money to the winner of the Emerging Transport Professional Award and \$200 to each winner of the University Level Student Award.

I cannot thank John Reid enough for enabling us to provide students and young transport professionals with such wonderful opportunities to enhance their personal and professional development.

Global District 8

Don McKenzie has completed his term as Global District 8 Director and handed the reins over to Daniel Przychodzki. There is a separate report.

Advocacy

During 2019 I attended meetings organised by the North East Link Authority to consider facilities that are to be provided for active transport. A number of community representatives and I advocated very strongly that the standard of facilities to be provided for walkers and cyclists should be commensurate with the standards for motor vehicles. Initially our advice fell on deaf ears but the message began seep through and some gains were made. However we were unable to get any real assurances that active transport would be given the same level importance as motorised transport.

Awards

The recipients of Awards for 2019 were:

- Contribution to the Transportation Profession Andrew O'Brien
- Emerging Transport Professional Viseth Uch, VicRoads
- Sustainable Transport Darebin City Council & Alice Woodruff, Active City
- Student Paper Aaron Tomlins, University NSW
- SIDRA Postgraduate Yue Zhou, QUT
- Award for Excellence Dana Abudayyeh

Thanks go to the selection panels for their good work.

Honorary Member of ITE

Peter T McCombs, DistFEng NZ, CPEng (F) was awarded Honorary Membership of ITE

Our Sponsors



Austraffic is our Platinum Sponsor and has enabled the Worldwide Learning Opportunities Program as described above.



SIDRA Solutions sponsor our President's Dinner and Postgraduate Award. In 2019 they celebrated their 20th anniversary and sponsored one of our seminars.



The RACV sponsor our Annual Breakfast Meeting.







We have three Corporate Sponsors

Communications

Marianne has continued to produce an excellent Newsletter. Danielle has taken the role of communications officer.

Looking Ahead

For the year ahead a few of the areas that I would like us to focus on are:

- Links with North America
- Student Chapters
- Young transport professionals
- Speaking out on issues important to our profession.

Nick Szwed

27 February 2020